I’ve been using Linux for over four years now. I started by using Ubuntu, and later on made the switch to Arch Linux, which I still use today.
And because apparently in the description of this blog it is said that I also make articles about my interests and computers. And I noticed that, until now, I haven’t…

So lets begin with an easy one! I will (very) briefly discuss four of the most useful (to me) applications I encountered so far on Linux. Including, Kupfer, Tilda, ScreenCloud and Banshee. Some of them completely changing the way I use a computer.

Kupfer

What is it?
This application that made me say goodbye to the traditional menu. Instead of going through a bunch of menus and sub-menus and the sub-menus of the sub-menus. I let Kupfer do all the work for me instead. It completely changed the way I use a computer.
If you like me, like controlling your computer by just using a keyboard (like using a terminal), then this will add some more fizz!

And all this goodness happens while you are typing. So that’s nice too 🙂

Launching applications
Kupfer makes it possible to find what you want, as fast as possible. You just need to type what you are searching for. Also after a while, it will have learned what you most likely want when you type something. For me for example:

c → Chromium
b → Banshee
s → Skype

Finding documents
Finding and opening that goddamn file has never been easier. Just type in a word you know was in the name of the file.

For example, I just write “tux”. And no matter where those files were found. As long as they are in the folders that kupfer indexes (can be set in the preferences)

Example use:
d → downloads folder

One should notice that on the right, there is a text “open”. In fact, its just one of the many options you can pop out. A few available actions are: Open with, Reveal (open directory), Create archive, Move to, trash, ..

Controlling applications
I’ll just highlight some of the things I use frequently

Skype Chat
I just type in the name of the guy I want to talk to, and poof! magic happens. From that moment I can choose to chat, call or whatever.

Bookmarks
Bookmarks of your web browser can be easily accessed.

Compose an email (also for gmail!)

Search Wikipedia, Google, Google contacts …

How I use it
I use ALT+a to open it.  And type what I need and click enter.
Alternatives
I haven’t really looked into them, but there are some alternatives I know about. If you have tried them, let me know in the comments below!
Gnome Do, and synapse.
Synapse looks very promising and I’m certainly going to try it soon.

More info

Tilda

This is a very simple terminal emulator that allows a very neat overlay. Dimensions, color, transparency and behavior are completely configurable. It even has tabs. How can you not like it then… I mean.. it has tabs!
How I use it
For almost all commands I execute. I just press “SUPER+a” and whoosh…there it is!

More info

Screencloud

This is a very new application but in just one week that has proven to be useful already a few times.
It is not only useful to create screenshots, but also very good at sharing them!

You press the correct key combination and then the magic happens: it takes a screenshot, uploads it to ‘the cloud’ and puts the link to it on your clipboard. How nice is that?

More info

Banshee
This is the music player I almost use daily. In the for me known media player universe, this is the best music player I found so far. I can even sync my iPods, android devices or any other usb device with it!

If you haven’t already, I suggest you check it out.

More info


This concludes my very brief description of four of my favorite apps. Let me know what you think or if you have other interesting applications: Share & Enjoy!

